Small batch question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brauhausjoe

Reaction score
I am new to mead making, I have brewed up one five gallon batch and it came out well. I would like to test out different flavors. Could I: brew up a 5 gallon batch, pitch the yeast, stir, and then divide up into my one gallon jugs with different flavors? I have seen several 1 gallon recipes, but I have not seen making one 5 gallon and then dividing it up. Is there a reason I should not do it this way? As always, any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Yes, you can easily do that. There is a few posts about folks different experiments in the mead forum.

Ok, BigKahuna, your turn to jump in on this.

Your wish is my command.

Actually, I don't have a lot of input here other than just to encourage you to DO IT! There is a great deal about flavor compounds to be learned by doing this, as well as keeping true to the scientific "control Group" method. You will know exactly what each addition did to the flavor, because the base of all of them will be the same.

Yes you can....Go watch the basic brewing video podcasts on the Mead experiment.

http://cdn1.libsyn.com/basicbrewing...02&nva=20080811225202&t=0f36908901693b867955c

Start above, then go to the website for the rest of them...http://www.basicbrewing.com/index.php?page=video

Have fun experimenting!!!

Oh I will...

Exactly!! Thanks! I did not think it would be a problem, but I figured I would ask the pros. I am planing to give Vanilla, Tamarindo, Logan Berry, Strawberry and Peach. I will keep you guys posted...brewing starts this week.

Thanks Again