it's about time...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

android

Reaction score
well, after thinking about doing a sour for a while and then tasting one i really liked at the local liquor store (monk's cafe flemish sour), i decided it was time to do something about it.

i have settled on brewing an oud bruin, from what i've researched, it seems like the right level of sour (if i get it right) for my first. i'm gonna use the recipe from BCS, and have a question for y'all. i think i'll use the roselare blend (is that available year round now?). my question is whether i should ferment roughly halfway through the beer with 1056 or 1272, rack and then pitch the roselare? or should i just go for it and pitch the roselare to start with?

thanks for any input. :mug:

im no expert but i think that depends on how sour u want ur beer. the earlier you add the roselare, the more sour it will be (i think).

yeah, i figured that, but was curious if anyone had experience with how sour it came out pitching roselare vs neutral ale first. i suppose i'll probably ferment it out a bit and then pitch the roselare to be safe...

Roselare has sacc in it too. So there is really to pitch seperate yeast first. There is also lato, pedio, brett, and a whole host of other bugs too.

If you want it to be tart rather than SOUR, I would go with a clean strain first. You can control the sourness by raising or lowering the fermentability of the wort, the lower you mash the less sourness you will get (primary yeast choice plays a roll as well).