Best Kegerator

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamesjensen1068

Reaction score
Just wondering what you guys think is the best way to go for Kegerator:

1. Fridge - Newer
2. Fridge - Vintage
3. Upright Freezer
4. Chest Freezer

Will likely purchase from craigslist. I do have woodworking skills

I would like to have at least 2 corneys on tap with room for at least one or two more corneys ready to be tapped. Also room for additional bottles of beer.

I'm new to brewing and have yet to bottle my first batch (True Brew Brown Ale to be bottled this weekend), already hooked. My plan is to start kegging within the year. Use Perlick faucets, etc. Have seen the post on sizing Keezer.

What are the pros and cons as you guys with experience see it. Thanks for the advise.....great site.

Cheers

Personally, I prefer my chest freezer. I have used an upright fridge, and it ran way too often, My chest freezer runs about once a day for 15min.
The Magic Chef 7.2CF will hold 4 kegs without a coller, and last check was only $200. I keep my tank and several cold glasses on the hump. I am satisfied with my picnic taps! Mabye some day I will add a tower to it. a 6-8 inch collar would allow for 6 kegs, if i move the tank outside. I keep it in the garage.

1. Fridge - Newer
If you are going to store bottles in the fridge and other things in the freezer, this is a great option. May have to shop arround for one that will hold 4 kegs.You can mount faucets right on the door.
2. Fridge - Vintage
Gonna use more power to run, looks alot cooler! You can mount faucets right on the door.
3. Upright Freezer
Space utilization. also, cold air falls, so when you open the door, it fills with warmer air.
4. Chest Freezer
Best space utilization. Cannot simply mount taps to the door.