Filtration question and introducing myself

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

desperado11288

Reaction score
Hi all, my name's Pat and I'm from outside of Boston. I'm midway through my second batch, the first one was a kit "American Pale Ale" that included steeped grains and two cans of extract, this second kit was the "Three Nipple Triple" recipe from Radical Brewing. It was mostly dry extract and some jaggery sugar, Saaz hops, Belgian ale yeast, etc.

I have some background in winemaking and got trained up in sensory analysis, but working at a liquor store has taught me just how much more interesting brewing is. Clearly you guys have figured that out too!

Anyway, on to my actual question. I have an electronic filter / pump that I use for racking carboys, and previously used to filter wine before bottling. Obviously, if I fine filtered the beer it wouldn't condition in the bottle because there wouldn't be any yeast left, but does anyone know what doing a little bit more porous filtration would do? Would it terribly effect the beer's flavor?

Along the same lines, think a fine filtration and then adding more yeast before bottling along with the primer would end well?

Thanks a lot guys, and I'm happy to have found the forum!

Welcome! A 2-5 micron filter works quite well to clarify beer and doesn't hurt the flavor. Realistically, you rarely have to filter homebrew, unless you are fanatical about clarity. I haven't filtered a beer in 3 years.

I personally don't filter my beer. However, talking with a couple guys at work, they refuse to drink hombrew (more for me?) because it isn't filtered. I think of it as a personal choice. If you want to have it filtered, go for it. :mug: Welcome!

You should not have to filter beer. Patience is key.