1st timer question...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rdracera1

Reaction score
What sort of percolation rate should I see in my airlock. I pitched my ale yeast ~ 10 hours ago. Pitched at 80 degrees and current temp is a steady 70. Percs are about 40 seconds apart.

Since this is my first attempt at home brewing I have no idea what to expect.

Thx
:mug:

Good luck with the first batch !
But don't worry about the rate...as HB_99 says, if its going, its going!
There are tons of factors temperature, yeast type/quality, the size/type of the
fermentation lock/bung, the tighness of the seal..ect,e ct. All these factors
boil down to there not being any sort of percualtion rate to measure/compare.
Usually the first 3 days are really active- and yours sounds good.

Cheers.

Air bubbles are hypnotic......you are making beer....you are making beer.......

Thanks for the info.

The root of my question stems from passage I read. Something to the effect of .....
after several days measure the frequency of the burps in your airlock. If they're more than a minute apart your ready to move on.

So, that's why I was asking what the 'beginning' frequency should be. If the ending frequency is supposed to be something like a burp every 65 - 90 seconds.

I'll post how the batch turns out once it's finished. Provided I don't spit it all over the keyboard and short something out. :D