First batch of extract Hefe-Weizen and acidic after-taste

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Weiser78

Reaction score
I am new to the home brew scene. I've been reading and learning all kinds of tips and techniques. I know I am going to enjoy this down the road. Ok, I brewed my first ever batch of Beer. All extract "kit" style. It is a Hefe-Weizen using Muntons Wheat extract, strissel-spalt hops, wheat beer yeast, etc... the typical you get in this kit. My processes where exact and very tolerant. After fermentation, my OG and FG came out perfect according to the recipe and my ABV was a perfect 4.9% where it should be for a good wheat beer. I've waited 2 weeks now since bottling and I've finally opened a few. The head and color look good, a bit cloudy like it should be, and carbonation is excellent. Good aroma of bananas and hints of cloves. It tastes great up front, like a wheat beer should, but the finish leaves a bad acidic taste. What would be the #1 reason for this? Do I need to let this sit longer in the bottle, lets say another 2 weeks? Just trying to learn from my mistakes or learn new techniques so I can eliminate this after taste. All in all, this beer tastes really good, minues the acidic aftermath.

:tank:

Welcome,

No true answer from me. I was an idiot and put my hefe in a secondary, which lost the cloudiness, and also had a strange off flavor. I think it was that it fermented too hot. We had 90+ and I am not sure what our storage unit was at.

I drank that batch, and it was strong nonetheless, and now am on to the next wheat that I left longer, didn't secondary and it is great.

I have two kits from Austin Homebrew, one in primary and one in the secondary, that I am looking forward to.

Relax..and you know the rest...

SMC