Where to start with a PLC controlled brewery?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JKoravos

Reaction score
I'm mainly thinking of the control unit here. I have some experience using and programming PLCs, but I don't have a good handle on what's available out there (for cheap ;)), especially when analog control is involved.

The brewery I'm designing in my head would probably have 15-20 temperature/pressure sensors, which would control about as many valves, pumps, motors, etc.

Data logging is also a plus.

Anyone have an idea where to begin looking?

I've seen several on eBay. I have almost no experience programming them but I have several Inst. Eng. and Elect. Eng. friends. My understanding is that you need one point for input and one point for output for each device, so I think that means you would need 30 - 40 points. I really don't know if that's accurate but when I was looking, I told my friends what I was doing: pump, 2 control valves, 2 temp. controllers. They told me to get one with 12 - 16 points in case you want to add on. I haven't done it but I have seen PLCs on eBay that would handle that (12 - 16 points) for $125 - $250. Hope this helps - Dwain

Yeah, I did a quick troll through the ebay listings. The problems is that there are so damn many up there. I have a reasonably good idea what I need and I could spec it myself, but I'm always looking for advice from people who know more than me.

I guess I'm looking for recommendations on hardware people have used and know will work will for this application.