Mint Chocolate Stout v1.0

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrgstiffler

Reaction score
There have been a few mint chocolate stout recipes posted here and elsewhere, but most of them have been all-grain, or have a few things I didn't like about them. This is my first attempt at creating my own recipe, and it's more like a compilation of a half-dozen other recipes I've found. I think I'll be brewing this next weekend. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Stiffler Mint Chocolate Stout v1.0 - Extract

Recipe Overview
Expected Pre-Boil Gravity: 1.015 SG Expected OG: 1.058 SG
Expected FG: 1.016 SG Apparent Attenuation: 71.0 %
Expected ABV: 5.5 % Expected ABW: 4.3 %
Expected IBU (using Tinseth): 31 IBU Expected Color (using Morey): 52.5 SRM
BU:GU ratio: 0.52 Approx Color:
Mash Efficiency: 75.0 %
Boil Duration: 60.0 mins
Fermentation Temperature: 70 degF

Fermentables
Ingredient Amount % MCU When
US Chocolate Malt 8.00 oz 5.7 % 33.1 In Mash/Steeped
US 80L Crystal 8.00 oz 5.7 % 7.3 In Mash/Steeped
US Roasted Barley 8.00 oz 5.7 % 28.4 In Mash/Steeped
US Black Malt 4.00 oz 2.9 % 23.7 In Mash/Steeped
Amber LME 7lb 0oz 80.0 % 4.5 Start Of Boil

Hops
Variety Alpha Amount IBU Form When
US Willamette 4.0 % 1.00 oz 4.0 Loose Whole Hops 60 Min
US Willamette 4.0 % 0.50 oz 4.0 Loose Whole Hops 15 Min
US Willamette 4.0 % 0.50 oz 4.0 Loose Whole Hops 5 Min
Unsweetened Cocoa N/A 10oz N/A Powder 15 Min
Mint N/A 2oz N/A Loose Leaf Dry-Hop

Yeast
White Labs WLP013-London Ale

Looks great. I wouldn't leave the mint in the secondary too long. It gets overpowering pretty quick. :mug: