Apfelwein question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GIusedtoBe

Reaction score
I started a 5 gallon carboy of apfelwein on Oct 1. It is still bubbling slowly. Should I wait until it is completely still before bottling this stuff? I can tell with beer but this is my first attempt at apfelwein.

Regards,
Al

GIusedtoBe said:
I started a 5 gallon carboy of apfelwein on Oct 1. It is still bubbling slowly. Should I wait until it is completely still before bottling this stuff? I can tell with beer but this is my first attempt at apfelwein.

Regards,
Al

Edwort says give it 6 weeks in the fermenter.

homebrewer_99 said:
You should ALWAYS wait until it's done fermenting before bottling.

No exceptions!! :mad: :D

Yeah I know it was kind of a stupid question but I'm on my first Apfelwein and I really just want to get it bottled before Thanksgiving for gift purposes.

Regards,
Al

GlusedtoBe said:
I really just want to get it bottled before Thanksgiving for gift purposes.

Ed says 6 weeks, but personally any time after it clears is good. Now... It won't be the BEST apfelwein, but if the people drinking it have no reference to go on, it will be DAMN good as long as it clears up before you bottle/keg it.

Funny about that Apfelwein. It seems to always have some bubbles in it. I have made several batches and all of them had tiny little bubbles. They never seemed to go away. I just waited until clear and then bottled....No problems yet