Tips on using acidulated malt?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EinGutesBier

Reaction score
Since I've never used acidulated malt before, I figured I'd try to learn a little bit more about it since I have an experimental beer recipe in mind that uses it. Of course, I know it's not the same as the sour funk you get from the real bugs for a pLambic, though this beer won't be a lambic. The sour/tang/twang that I'm shooting for is going to be one of the primary features of the beer offset by maltiness and candi sugar. My question is, for a 5-6 gallon batch, how much acidulated malt would be good to use as a offset for malty sweetness?

Thanks in advance, folks. If this recipe works out, I'll be sure to post it. :mug:

I don't think you're going to get any lambic type sourness from this.

"Acididulated malt lowers mash pH, and provides a rounder, fuller character to the beer, enhancing the flavor of Pilseners and other light lagers. Lowering the pH also helps prevent beer spoilage through oxidation."

I don't think you're going to get any lambic type sourness from this.

"Acididulated malt lowers mash pH, and provides a rounder, fuller character to the beer, enhancing the flavor of Pilseners and other light lagers. Lowering the pH also helps prevent beer spoilage through oxidation."
Here's the quote I found on Midwest Supplies:

"Acidulated Malt: This malt is acidulated with lactic acid and can be used to lower mash pH. Use up to 3% in dry stouts to add a tang to the finish. May use up to 1-10% acidulated malt in your grain bill.

I figure if I use enough, I'll get that tang. Here's to hoping, anyway.