Belgian Dark Strong Ale critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chemicalcraig

Reaction score
This is my first foray into the wonders of Belgian beers. After drinking a piraat last night I'm forced to try my hand at a malt monster. This is my first try, so am not too familiar with the style. Am I performing any sacriledge here?

zeta.jpg

i would drop the orange peel for a strong dark - you'll get some fruit flavors from the Belgian yeast, and the orange could clash with the dark rum-soaked fruitiness that most strong darks exhibit.

i would recommend Wyeast 3787 for a strong dark, or 1214...

If you're mashing low (which you want to do), you might want to do that for 90 minutes to promote attenuation. Overall, looks pretty good.

looks good. definitely drop the orange peel.

make a good starter, give it plenty of time in the primary (about a month, probably), keep the temperature consistent and rouse the yeast every few days (just give it a very slight swirl)

strong belgians can be a PITA, but it's worth the hassle
:mug:

If you can, on the fermentation front, start with the temps fairly low (65°-ish), but then let them ramp up gradually over time. I got phe-freakin'-nomenal attenuation with my Belgian dark last summer (like, 90%) doing this. Starting low keeps fusels from developing; finishing high lets the beer ferment out as completely as it can. I need more Belgians around, but I'm going to wait until it warms up so I can more easily do the ramp-up.

the_bird said:
If you can, on the fermentation front, start with the temps fairly low (65°-ish), but then let them ramp up gradually over time... but I'm going to wait until it warms up so I can more easily do the ramp-up.