Fermentation stopped in 5 days FG 1.008

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rrc0406

Reaction score
This is my first time brewing and I am brewing a coopers dark ale. I started on Friday when original gravity was 1.042 which matched the label. On day 1 I saw a lot of activity with constant bubbling in air lock. On Tuesday the bubbling was at every minute. On Wednesday I saw no bubbling. I measured the gravity and it was 1.008 to 1.010. I transferred the wort to secondary fermenter. I am not sure if anything is wrong and not sure how long I should keep in the secondary fermantation. I would appreciate some advice.
The only thing I think I could have done wrong is the wort poured into the primary fermenter was not cool enough when yeast was added.

Sounds like it's done fermenting.

What was your fermentation temperature?

Take another reading in a day or two and if it hasn't changed, you can bottle/keg it... or, better, leave it for another week or three and let the yeast clean it up a bit.

Welcome to HBT! The only thing you did wrong was make beer...hey wait a minute....were you trying to make beer?

Let is sit in the secondary for a couple weeks, bottle it up, wait for three weeks and drink.

Yep, you made beer. Now you're screwed. You're gonna drink it. You'll make more. You'll drink that. Pretty soon you'll have brewing crap strewn all over your house and everything you see at the grocery store, home depot or yard sale will be unconsciously weighed on how it can be used to brew beer.

Next time, think about giving it a little more time in the primary. At least a week after fermentation stops. The yeast clean up their by-products and you can get less off-flavors that way. Either way makes beer though. :D