First timer with questions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ecoBREW

Reaction score
Hello,

I just started brewing my first ever batch of beer, lager to be exact. I got the kit from my mother. She bought 5 or 6 years ago for my step-father who never tried it out.

The question(s) is/are:
1. The can of "John Bull" lager mix, corn sugar and yeast - do they go bad? They are 5 or 6 years old as well.

2. After I got the beer down to the correct temp and add the yeast I sealed the 6.5 gallon bucket and put the air-lock on with water in it half full. That was midnight last night. I haven't seen a bubbles coming up into the air-lock yet. When will they start coming up?

3. The leaflet that came with the beer states it should be fermented at 65 - 75 degrees. I have a book that states otherwise. The book states 50 - 70 degrees, optimum at a steady 55 - 60 degrees. Should I trust the leaflet's information?

Thank you for your support!
10.03.05 and counting!

Thanks for the advice guys! I went out and bought some new yeast and the fermentation process has begun. Thanks again!

pints o black stuff said:
3. The leaflet that came with the beer states it should be fermented at 65 - 75 degrees. I have a book that states otherwise. The book states 50 - 70 degrees, optimum at a steady 55 - 60 degrees. Should I trust the leaflet's information?

I would not trust that leaflet. Lagers and ales require different fermentation temps. It sounds like the leaflet has a temp range that is actually for an ale, but you said this is a lager, so your book and the optimum temp ranges are more suitable for a lager.

pints o black stuff said:
Thanks for the advice guys! I went out and bought some new yeast and the fermentation process has begun. Thanks again!