Northern Brewer Kit - Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sysera

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a newb. I've done a few True Brew kits and had some really good luck so far. Deciding to branch out a little bit, I've just received my Northern Brewer Honey Brown Ale kit.

I have a couple of questions about the kit and wondering if anyone could lend their advice.

First question, the kit comes with ~1lb total of speciality grains for steeping. The instructions NB provides with the kit instruct you to "crush and steep". Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe all the grains shipped in NB extract based kits, are already crushed? I'm super inexperienced with grains and brewing, since the only kit I've done with any grain at all, was the True Brew Belgian, and that came with pale 2-row that was almost pulverized, it wasn't in question if it was crushed or not. The NB grains are all together in one bag, and I certainly see some 'hulls' and bits and pieces, but it's not completely crushed, like one might expect. So, is this crushed or do I need to beat these fellas with a rolling pin?:

OtoHv.jpg

Second question, the instructions also say to heat 2.5 gallons of water and steep the grains in the supplied bag, for 20 minutes, or until the water reaches 170... What does this really mean? Should I just heat the water and use a thermometer to tell when the water is precisely 170, and then steep the grains for 20 minutes with timer? Or put the grain bag in the cold water, crank the heat, and take it out as soon as it reaches 170? This might not take that long on my gas stove, with the powerboil burner and I don't want to short change the grains in the wort. I'm not sure which way to go on this. :)