Potential dangers?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eloro

Reaction score
I'm new to wine making. My girlfriend won't drink any of my homemade wine because she thinks that there is a possibility that it is either infected with bacteria, or some chemical that will otherwise kill you, methanol maybe? I don't know... Now, I have already drank a good bit of it, and I'm still alive to type this. I'd always heard rumors that homemade wine could hurt you if you did it wrong... but from what I've read that is just a myth... But it did get me thinking. I've read two opposing things... one said bacteria or chemicals aren't enough to hurt you, just give the wine an off taste, and one that said it could potentially make you sick and even kill you in certain concentrations. Which is true? Do I never have to worry when drinking my home wines, or is there always a slight chance?

That, my friend, is complete arse. Unless you're drinking pure sanitizer I'd go ahead and say you're fine. What you're probably thinking of is Distilling, which can be very dangerous if you don't know what you're doing. But it's probably illegal in your state, and besides, it's difficult and pretty hardcore equipment wise. You can counter this statement by telling her that beer was made because it was more sterile than dirty water centuries ago - it may very well be the reason that we're alive today. As Benjamin Franklin said - Beer is proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy.

Just use your standard home brewing chemicals and you'll be 100% fine. probably healthier than you are now.

As Benjamin Franklin said - Beer is proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy.

Actually, he didn't say that. He did say this though:

Benny F said: