New here and first AG experience!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mitch171

Reaction score
I have been reading this forum for a few weeks trying to learn as much as I can. Before last night I had done 3 extract kits. So I decided to make my own recipe and AG at the same time.

Some background on me is that I have been making wine since I was 12 with my father and average about 40 gal. of wine a year for the last 4. We harvest grapes from my cousins vineyard, crush/de-stem, and then press them ourselves. A group of us get together to do this and as a group make an average of 200 gal.

So I am new to brewing, but not new to sanitizing and cleaning equipment.

I felt ready to make some beer from scratch (well almost, someday I may try to malt my own grain at least once). Here is the recipe I used/made.

I used Beer tools to help me, but I didn't find the recipe generator until I had made this. It took a long time to get it right and I had to change a few things in the end.

This is the mix that is now fermenting, the original recipe was for a 5 gal batch, I now know I need to boil longer or hotter if I am going to go from 7 gal to 5 gal. I added light brown sugar to bring it back into spec. Tell me what you think.

6 lbs. American 2-row
2 lbs. Crystal Malt 40°L
1 lbs. American Black Patent
3 lbs. Weyermann CaraHell®
1 lbs. Molasses
2 lbs. Light Brown Sugar
.6 oz. Centennial (Pellets, 9.5 %AA) boiled 60 min.
.5 oz. Mt. Hood (Pellets, 5.00 %AA) boiled 30 min.
.5 oz. Mt. Hood (Whole, 5.00 %AA) boiled 5 min.

Original Gravity Predicted 1.070 for 72% efficiency Actual 1.069
Terminal Gravity 1.018 (This is what I am shooting for)
Color 30.90 °SRM
Bitterness 26.1 IBU
Alcohol (%volume) 6.8 %