absolute newb here! please help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bignick

Reaction score
ok first let me explain my situation. i am currently brewing my second batch of beer. the first batch was the one that came with the coopers brewing kit and it turned out almost decent. the problem was that there was so much damn gunk in there because i did not rack it to a secondary, and the way the coopers fermenter is designed it allowed a lot of gunk into my beer. most people didn't like it and it was very discouraging, almost made me give up right there.

So i am on my second batch, it is the brewers best weissen bier kit. i made a couple of mistakes while brewing. first off, i scortched the brew pot really bad, and i dont know if it will matter, but i know when u scortch food u can taste it in the end. also i put the hop pellets directly into the brew which caused an excessive amount of trubb through out my beer. i should have used the bags.

I racked my beer once so far, and i made another mistake. i used the spout on the coopers fermenter to just allow the beer to pour into a glass carboy with a funnel. will this ruin my beer? Im not to familiar with this, but i think allowing this much oxygen into the brew will cause something.

Also I bought a kegging system to force carb for clarity, but i do not have the means to use it right now, so i bout 4 of those mini kegs. I did not buy the co2 for it, i will just use gravity because i will drink it all in one sitting. does any one have anything to tell me about using these kegs with gravity? as far as clarity, head, and anything else i should know?

sorry about the long ass post but i am so close to giving up and i need some advice bad.