complete noob question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

400d

Reaction score
ok, less than a month ago I went to a fishing trip, and a friend showed me something that was supposed to be a wild hop plant. there were no hops on it because, like he said, it was to early in these climates.

anyway, I picked a piece of a plant and brought it home. put it in a glass jar untill it started to grow new leaves, and then removed it into flower pot on my balcony.

this grows like crazy, but I'm worried I have a trojan horse in my house :D

so, is this a hop plant?

270820101224.jpg

Nope. Is it a link to a photo sharing website (flikr, etc)? My employer's firewall blocks a number of those and I can't see them.

@Walker

i uploaded the picture in my picture gallery in this forum. just click on my gallery. :mug:

I'll put it directly in here then. Looks like hops to me, but what LGI said is also true... it's a Trojan Horse in that you have no idea what properties the hops will have at all (flavor, aroma, bitterness).

270820101224.jpg

Saw this in a different thread - I would recommend dbl checking with a good google search:
==================
I got schooled in this method from a hop grower close to me. From the days when they used leather lederhosen to test wort!

Do the measurements accurately:

Take one ounce of your hops.

Boil two cups of water for 15 minutes with 1 scant Tbsp of sugar (utilization).
Add your hops and boil for 10 minutes.

Strain the hops and take your tea to dilute

1/4 of a cup of water to 1/4 cup of tea= one %.
So dump the first mixture retaining 1/4 cup and then add 1/4 cup water
Continue with dilute 1/4 cup of your tea until the bitterness is not distiguishable by taste.