How do I calculate OG when adding fermentables?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

12Bbierdeity

Reaction score
I have a question about calculating OG when making late additions of fermentables to your beer. I was reading in Extreme Brewing about this being one way to raise the ABV. For instance, if my OG was 1.07ish in three gallons of wort and I add three pounds of DME every five days (or after the krausen falls) for 20 days (boiled in a half gallon of water) and after five more days add three pounds of brown sugar or candy sugar boiled again in a half gallon of water and repitch champagne yeast. How do I calculate the OG accurately? Do I aerate the new fermentables that I add? Thanks in advance for the advise.

Sorry I'm not good with the numbers but for OG purposes I don't know why you couldn't add the ingredients into beersmith/beer calculus/your beer math app of choice and get an accurate overall gravity of the fermentables. Calculating FG might be a little trickier with the extra yeast being pitched.

However, dang thatll be pretty high gravity. 1.070 + 12 lbs dme + 3 lbs brown/candy sugar in 5.5 gallons? Am I reading that right?

If you add too much sugar, you will end up killing the yeast and have a very sweet drink that will not carbonate.

First: Only aerate at first pitch. Aerating any time later will result in oxidation and give sherry or wet cardboard tastes.

How to calculate additional gravity ........

- Find out how many gravity points the additive has. That is; if dissolved in 1 gallon of water, what would the gravity be. For DME its 1.045, or 45 gravity points. For brown or table sugar its 1.046 or 46 gravity points. LME = 36, Corn sugar = 36, Honey = 33.