DIY Custom Crown Caps!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hokie

Reaction score
So after many hours of trial and error, I finally got what I think are respectable/legit looking custom crown caps that I made with my inkjet printer (laser would work as well I think) and a few other ingredients. What I love about the process I used, is that as long as you can print your image within 1 square inch, the possibilities are endless. Let me know what you think and if you have any questions... I know there are a few people on the board who are interested in custom crown caps.
IMG_5247-1.jpg

Ha, I was afraid someone would ask. I was going to get around to writing a step-by-step, but essentially...
-Print mirror images onto a sheet of paper (I have limited experience so far, but I think the kind you use matters)
-Cut them out into 1x1 inch squares
-Apply a thin layer of acrylic medium onto the cap
-Place the image down onto the cap and burnish lightly
-Wait a few seconds and remove the paper
-Rub and wash off any leftover paper
-Lacquer

Probably not something you'd do for an entire batch, but they add a nice finishing touch, especially for presentation purposes. I think once you got the hang of it, it wouldn't be much of a chore.

That might be one of the top 5 greatest things I have seen in my life! Please tell us how you did this!!!

Crafty process and all, but you can get something like 300 clear printable circle labels for $7...

Circular Labels - Round Labels - Circle Label- lip Balm Labels - Laser & Inkjet Labels - OL5275 - 0.75" Circle - 108 Labels Per Sheet