Questions on Lautering

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tbone4582

Reaction score
I'm new to the brewing process so this may be an ignorant question. I have been reading up on the lautering process and I was given a full brewing set up, complete with 7gal. Propane turkey fryer, lautering tun and grain mill. I have done only 2 batches using the extract and mini mash technique. Here is my question: For an all grain batch, Why go through the lengthy lautering process when you can simply crush your grains put them in grain bags and heat your full 5gal. of water on the burner to the appropriate temp and let them sit there for the appropriate time and then pull your grains and start your boil and hop additions? You don't have to sparge because all you have to do is pull the grain bags out and recirculate water through the bag to get all of the sugars out, not more stuck sparge water. I'm sure there is some reason you can't just do this otherwise everyone would and save the hassle of the traditional lautering process. Can any one tell me if this would work or am I a hopeless nube?

I prefer the traditional sparge and lauter method for a few reasons. With my picnic cooler mash lauter tun it's actually pretty easy. As easy as BIAB.
Also the vorlauf step to me is critical to clarify the wort. Vorlauf is not really possible in BIAB unless you have a drain valve on your kettle.
There are many who say that the wort will clarify in the fermenter but I don't believe this is beneficial.
For starters it makes it very hard to repitch yeast if it's caught in a giant mess of trub.
For every labour step there are rewards later. That's my opinion anyway.

I did install a valve filter on my boiler with a inline screen so I am able to filter out if needed.