Half and Half Lager

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sicklesr

Reaction score
I'm thinking of the following Doppelbock. This is my first attempt at a Doppelbock and my first decotion. Please criticise and critque to improve this! I'll have some specific questions after the recipe!

---

Volume: 10 Gallon Batch
Method: e-BIAB, Single Decoction

17lb Briess GoldPils Vienna
17lb Briess Bonlander Munich
1lb Carafa Special

Mash Schedule:
  • All Grain into Main Kettle Bag @ 120* for 15 minutes
  • Heat mash to 152* and hold for 30 minutes
  • Decoct XX Amount to Side Kettle
  • Hold main mash at 152* during decoction
  • Bring Decoction to Boil, and Boil for 20 minutes.
  • Return Decotion to Main Kettle Bag
  • Mash at 152 for 10 additional minutes
  • Raise Temp to 170* for Mash Out
  • Remove Bag and Drain
  • Heat to boiling for 90 Minute Boil

Hop Schedule:
  • 3*oz Tettnang @ Boil Start (90 Minutes)
    *#oz depending on AA. 3oz was calulated with AA=3.9%
  • 1oz Hallertau @ 15 minutes
  • 1oz Hallertau @ 0 minutes

OG @70% = 1.088
Color = 25 SRM
IBU = 19 IBU

---

Questions:
1 - How much Decoction should I pull from the main kettle. I know the method is to get the thickest mash possible into the decoction, but how much grain should I pull? Also, how thick is too thick? I could cinch up th bag a bit and get REAL thick stuff if it's desireable.
2 - I'm not sure what temp to hold the original mash (in main kettle) while boiling the decoction. I used a normal mash temp (152), what do you reccomend?
3 - Should I remove the late Noble Hop additions? I'm trying to stay true to BJCP guidlines for a Dopplebock.

Thank you!:mug: