Any audiophiles here?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DirtyPolock

Reaction score
So after throwing in a concert DVD in my PS3 to turn up while I cleaned the house I noticed a hollow sound from my surround system. I stood near my front speakers and I noticed that I have no working subwoofer, which explains why some pearl jam sounded hollow.

Is anybody here familiar with subwoofers. I am hoping to spend < $500 for a new subwoofer but I have no idea where to start and I don't want to get hosed. I am not an audio expert so I probably won't appreciate the difference between a $2,000+ speaker and a $300-$500 speaker. I am looking for something with a nice rich deep bass at a somewhat reasonable price. If anybody could point me in some directions (good forums, or review sites) I'd appreciate it.

I'm no audiophile but best bang for your buck would be to build your own. If that's out of the question, you should check out some of the entry level models from hsu research. I believe, but I'm not 100% sure, that HSU also built this OEM sub for Parts Express.

So after throwing in a concert DVD in my PS3 to turn up while I cleaned the house I noticed a hollow sound from my surround system. I stood near my front speakers and I noticed that I have no working subwoofer, which explains why some pearl jam sounded hollow.