Black Raspberry Maple Mead

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhogg

Reaction score
I have a black raspberry bush, and could quite easily drink maple syrup continuously if it were socially acceptable and good for my health.

I have yet to find cheap maple syrup, but do have a half gallon of Vermont dark maple syrup. I have at least 5 lbs of black raspberries.

I would very much like to transmute these ingredients into mead/ wine.

I'm assuming this would be about 1.5 gallon batch, but i have no idea how much fruit to add. Anyone with skills feel free to school me. I have never made any wine before, but do brew beer. I'm a novice you can't offend.

Just looking for ideas, thoughts, recipes..... I could not actually find much info on this combination so I am expecting it to be somewhat of an experiment.

I ended up using the follwing....

(5 gallon batch)
1 cup brown sugar
1 gallon apple juice
5lbs Honey (clover & wildflower)
1/2 gallon maple syrup
7lbs Black Raspberries
3 lemons
champagne yeast

I found a bug in my blackberries after I heated them up. It looked like a stinkbug so hopefully that doesn't ruin everything. I brewed this with only half of my wits available due to a barleywine that kind of snuck up on me. Cross my fingers and hope it tastes good.

Fermentation kicked off almost immediately. The carboy appears to be like a booming alien metropolis with ethereal globs traveling to and fro at high rates of speed.

I ended up using the follwing....
1 cup brown sugar
1 gallon apple juice
5lbs Honey (clover & wildflower)
1/2 gallon maple syrup
7lbs Black Raspberries
3 lemons
champagne yeast