Another Water Report Request

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Total noob here, first time brewing. My first batch is in the bucket and I have nothing but time on my hands to worry about all the factors in brewing.

I have included my water report below. I am at sea level, and am unsure what this means. I am brewing a Stout, and would like to know what I can expect, or what I should change for next time.

Any explanation of the science behind it would be great! Thanks!

ALKALINITY 24
ALUMINUM Not Detected
HETEROTROPHIC BACTERIA 11
CALCIUM 3.6
CHLORIDE 2.5
COLOR Not Detected
CONDUCTIVITY 65
CORROSIVITY -3.2
HARDNESS 13
IRON Not Detected
MANGANESE Not Detected
MBAS Not Detected
ODOR 2.8
pH 7.9
SILICA 17.9
SILVER Not Detected
SODIUM 6.0
SULFATE 4.3
TOTAL DISSOLVED SOLIDS 36
TOTAL SOLIDS 44
TOTAL ORGANIC CARBON 0.51
ZINC Not Detected

Its a relatively pure water with low mineralization. Not quite distilled or RO quality, but close enough. This water is a good place to start for many beers, but probably doesn't have enough alkalinity to keep the mash pH from dropping too low. If this was a first batch, I'm hoping that it was an Extract batch. In this case, the low alkalinity won't really matter and the low mineralization of the water shouldn't matter much either. This water would be well suited to any extract brewing.

The low calcium content and low sulfate or chloride may make the beer character a little low, but that might not be a problem with an extract batch. Some more mineralization will be a good thing to consider for future brews, especially if producing all-grain beers. Learn more about mineral additions at the Bru'n Water site.