Looking to start AG soon and want to go with BIAB single vessel electric brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Garrett

Reaction score
Been brewing extract and partial on the stove for about 6 months now and I am now ready to make the move to AG. Been doing lots of research on the forums and it seems like electric brewing is the way to go! I would like to do the BIAB single vessel electric method, seems like it is very effect and really cuts down on time, clean up and equipment cost. My concerns are, I have no electrical/wiring experience, I am on a budget as well and I am starting from scratch with equipment. Are there any simplified methods of doing this for someone so new to it all? What would be the best way to execute all of this properly, safely and cost effectively?

Thanks for your help in advance!

This is what I have in the garage, it says 30A-125/250v. We do not use it, we have both washer/dryer plugged into regular wall outlet.

image-1942839411.jpg

This is what I have in the garage, it says 30A-125/250v. We do not use it, we have both washer/dryer plugged into regular wall outlet.
Sounds like you have a gas dryer. No problem as it sounds like the outlet that you pictured is available. With that it would be an easy task to setup a BIAB system that is powered by 240V. It would be similar to the diagram I referenced earlier (above) but would be setup for 240V only.

If you are interested, I can mod the diagram to accomplish that.

Oh: Another quick question. Is there any chance that the circuit breaker feeding that outlet can be changed to a GFCI outlet? It would be well worth the added safety factor.

P-J