? about transferring from primary to secondary

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brian-s

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at wine making.

I've completed the primary fermentation of 5 gallons of pineapple wine in a brew bucket. I have a fine mesh filter funnel that I poured through, and was able to get about 4 gallons into the carboy before the coarse lees clogged the mesh.

Am I stuck throwing away the gallon that's left along with the lees? Ideas?

Thanks in advance.

You can pour the dirty gallon into 2 liter pop bottles and throw it in the fridge. Lees and sediment will fall into the depressions at the bottom and you can siphon off the clear liquid back into your secondary. Should be only a few days in the fridge to compact the sediment.

You can get a bit more out if that and top off with a white wine or juice.

You can pour the dirty gallon into 2 liter pop bottles and throw it in the fridge. Lees and sediment will fall into the depressions at the bottom and you can siphon off the clear liquid back into your secondary. Should be only a few days in the fridge to compact the sediment.

You can get a bit more out if that and top off with a white wine or juice.

Ah, thanks for the suggestion, sounds like it just might work.

I started this on 2/15 in the afternoon. 15 cans of frozen concentrate pineapple, bottled spring water to 5 gallons, added invert sugar to SG of 1.100, 1/2tsp of tannin and 1/2 crushed campden tablet.

Pitched 71B-1122 at 8am on 2/16 after activating it, covered loosely, checked and stirred every other day. Ferment temp was a steady 69F, and today my SG was at 0.998. After transferring the 4 gallons, I'm not seeing any airlock activity. I think all may be going according to plan here :)