Mead dryness question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

monza282

Reaction score
I'm brewing mead for the first time. I used 6# of honey for a 2.5 gal batch. I pitched Red Star Premier Cuvée yeast and left it in the primary for 14 days, adding ¼ teaspoon yeast energizer, diammonium phosphate and Wyeast beer nutrient each every 12 hours for the first 48 hours with a og of 1.0937. After racking to the secondary and taking a reading the gravity was .9806. Making it about 14.75% ABV.

The problem is that although the mead is still very green it had a dryness to it. My question is how do i back sweeten and when?

Thanks in advance, Monza282

I'm not an expert but from reading similar questions I think you'll want to add a honey/water mix to add sweetness when you first rack it (or any time between primary fermentation and bottling as far as I can tell), but before you do that you'll want to make sure that the new sugary goodness doesn't just get munched by the remaining yeast by adding a stabiliser (potassium sorbate - they sell it at Wilkinson's) once you're sure primary fermentation has finished (which, let's face it, at .9806 it probably has).

That is what I thought. But I have left out some info. I would like to have it be a sparkling (carbonated) mead.

This might me a little late but that Red Star Cuvee potentially could get up to 18% ABV. Since you want a sparkling mead you could stabilize it, back sweeten and then force carb it in a keg or ad more sugar to hit close to that 18% with some sugar left over.