Help with TD4 PID

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winterc

Reaction score
I'm new to electric brewing, I built my system based on one of P-J's diagrams, but used a TD4 PID instead, acquiring most other equipment from Amazon. If I put the PID in manual mode, it heats the element fine. If I connect the thermocouple with blue ends on pins 7 and 10, with 8 and 9 jumpered and the red ended connector attached it displays "UUUU" which means that the upper limit of input exceeds the measured value. If I attach either of the blue ended wires from the thermocouple to 8/9, and the red to 7 or 10, it displays -403. I have set it to farenheit, and the thermocouple to Pt. Did I get a bad thermocouple?

Thanks in advance for any help!

I think that is a MyPin brand PID... I have a TA7 model. I ran into two minor issues with my about two weeks ago when I set it up. First, the probe type was factory set to a "K" type, had to change it to a RTD/PT1000, but it sounds like you checked that already. Second, I had to cut off the terminals on all three probe wires, when I looked at them I saw that when they crimped on the terminals they never stripped the wires. Some to check. So much for quality control, but hey, the price was right!!

looking at the terminal ends, it seems that the wires weren't stripped, now to go back to trial and error with switching them around. I wish my voltimeter worked, time to buy a new one.

I so have a MyPin TA7. I opened mine up to look at wire colors. Red, yellow, and green on the thermocouple and I think it was pins 10-13. That doesn't help you in the slightest.