Re-boil unfermented wort to prevent infection?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cpsurfer

Reaction score
Hey all,

I brewed my second ever AG batch on Sunday night, an IPA (OG 1.068) and everything went great right up until it was time to pitch the yeast.

Earlier in the day I had activated the Wyeast slap pack but after about 6 hours it had only swelled a little bit. I'd used Wyeast packs for my 3 previous batches with fantastic results and each time they swelled up huge in a matter of hours, this time not so much. Being a complete newb I didn't bother to make a starter but just threw it in the fermenter with the wort anyway.

Tonight it will have been 48 hours since I pitched and there has been no sign of airlock bubbles. I will give it one more day and then take a gravity reading, but my question is this: What should I do if after 72 hours there are no visible signs of fermentation?

1)Should I just re-pitch with new yeast?

2) Can I/should I re-boil the unfermented wort to kill off any nasties that may have taken root in the absence of viable yeast? Would this even make a difference or if infection has already begun is it too late to reverse the off flavors?

Thanks

Hey all,

I brewed my second ever AG batch on Sunday night, an IPA (OG 1.068) and everything went great right up until it was time to pitch the yeast.

Earlier in the day I had activated the Wyeast slap pack but after about 6 hours it had only swelled a little bit. I'd used Wyeast packs for my 3 previous batches with fantastic results and each time they swelled up huge in a matter of hours, this time not so much. Being a complete newb I didn't bother to make a starter but just threw it in the fermenter with the wort anyway.