Turning twangy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cheeseshark

Reaction score
Ok, I know there are a ton of threads about "why is my beer sour?" I've looked at quite a few of them.

Here's quick run down of my brewing history. I make extract batches w/ steeping grains. I used lme. My first three batches turned out very well (a Brewer's Best kit, a Two Hearted Clone, and Papazian's Vagabond Gingered Ale). I loved them, in fact.

My next batch was a honey wheat. It tasted good out of the carboy right before bottling. After bottling, the beer has a distinct odd taste. It was a sour / twangy taste. I really wouldn't use the word sour, more twangy, but I am no expert. My wife described it as sour, though.

By this time, I already had another batch bottled - a pale ale. The first case was awesome - the best beer I have made yet. I used cascade pellets for hopping, and the citrus really came through. Well, the past four or five of the pale ales have had that same twangy / sour taste.

I have two other batches bottled, and I could swear that a bottle of one of those batches was turning that way, too.

My tubing does not seem scratched. I clean and sanitize everything. Other than maybe giving everything a soak in bleach, does anyone have any ideas? What is most perplexing to me is that the first half of the pale ale batch was awesome, now it has the bad taste...

One of the things I've noticed with liquid extract is that "twangy" taste that I pick up, especially if the extract isn't super fresh. That's the first thing I'd consider. Canned LME tends to have that flavor, but sometimes any older extract does, too. If the LME is super fresh from a store that sells in high volume, then it's not as bad.