Hefeweizen

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dover157

Reaction score
As a total newb I has a question for those more expirenced than myself. I would like to brew a Hefeweizen as I have just been introduced to the style and find it quite to my liking. Alas I will have to settle for an extract at this time, would love to go AG, but finances dont allow the purchasing of the needed equipment :mad: I could do a partial mash / partial boil if needed for any specalty grains but dont have a pot large enough for a full 5 gal boil, or a burner to pull it of for that matter. My question is would I be better served by ordering a kit from one of the online stores, or finding a recipe and heading into the LHBS with a shopping list. I will admit I like spending my money with the local business, but am not against using a tryed and true kit that is more idiot resistant. What do do??

If your new to homebrewing I would say get a kit to learn the basics. Thats how I started for my first 2 brews. Then I found recipes and changed them a little, then starting making my own recipes.

With a kit you will get what you want and not have to worry about anything, so I recommend that until you learn more about homebrewing. :)

For a Hefeweizen try and use liquid yeast like Wyeast 3068 or White Labs WLP300. I do a lot of extract Hefe's and they are very user friendly. My standard is:

6# Wheat DME
1oz of Hallertau @ 60 minutes
Wyeast 3068

(optional) 4oz Maltodextrin or 1# of Carapils steeped

Midwest Supplies Hank's Hefeweizen is a good kit as well. I also reuse / save the yeast using this technique since liquid yeast can get pricey over time:

http://www.mikebeer.net/reuseyeast.htm