Homebrew Book Suggestions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Darwin18

Reaction score
Its the holiday time and its in my best interest to give my parents specific details about holiday presents. Otherwise I'll end up with another terrible manhood removing apartment-warming present....

I'd like a few homebrewing books for which to build my knowledge and also stimulate my interest in homebrewing. I'm a beginner and just did my 1st all grain batch last weekend.

What 3 or 4 books would you suggest I ask for? What books do you still reference even years after first recieving them and which books do you go to for inspiration in recipes and equipment?

How to Brew by Palmer (also available free online, but best beginners book out there)
Complete Joy of Homebrewing (own it, has everything)
Designing Great Beers (on my list)
Brew like a Monk (Belgian style book)

I would recommend Ray Daniels' Designing Great Beers if you are at all interested in creating your own recipes. It covers everything about how to develop a grain bill, how to adjust water, and then goes in depth on some of the more traditional beer styles. I never make a recipe without consulting it.

John Palmer's - How To Brew. The first edition is posted online for free, but if you buy the new edition it has been updated. Also if your'e looking for info, check out some of the homebrew podcasts.

Stephan Snyder's The Brewmaster's Bible is a good one. Gives an explaination of numerous aspects of brewing and provides lots of different receipes

Jamil and Palmer's Brewing Classic Styles gets my vote. It's got an award winning recipe for each beer style.

Greate recipes and great starting points for designing your own.

With Brewing Classic Styles you can brew an award winning recipe everytime