Cold Crash Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

codfather

Reaction score
Hi All,

Im new to home brewing and have been reading the forums trying to find answers to my questions but I still have a question to ask.

Ive got my first two brews in secondaries and they are almost reading for bottling. Ive been reading a lot about cold crashing and how it helps clear up the beer.

I dont have a fridge I can stick the carboys in, but seen as it cold outside all day and night (I live on the Olympic peninsula) would it be ok just to stick them outside for a couple of days? The temp outside during the day will be around 46-47F will this be cold enough? and will leaving them outside for two days be long enough?

And from what ive read its ok to bottle them cold? as long as I leave the bottles inside to warm back up?

Depends what type of yeast you're using. I think you might see some results from it. The main purpose of cold crashing is to put the yeast into a dormant state, than gravity drops them out. If the yeast can tolerate a 45 degree temp you might not get the results you're looking for.

As for bottling, you should be fine. Yes, you want the bottles to warm back up. Around 70 or so, to bring the yeast that's still in suspension out of its dormant state. It may take slightly longer to carb, but you'll be fine.

I think the yeast was Muttons And Fison Ale Yeast. Although im not 100% sure. I bought two all grain beer kits from midwest, so its whichever dry yeast they put in the kits.

If it's truly under 50, you should get a result. Maybe not the best of results, but if it's all you got to work with, it's better than nothing!