Black IPA help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TechyDork

Dork of all Tech
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Ok, so i was reading a thread on here about black IPAs and rememberd how much i love midnight sun brewing co.'s XXX aniversary black IPA.

I found a little information about it on their site. click here and from that came up with the following 3 gal AG recipe.

I am pretty new at formulating recipes and just took my best guess on the amounts. The original is a nice semi-hoppy dark beer, with a good mouth feel, not thin, nice malty almost coffe touch to it.

here is my shot, i would love for some more experienced recipe artists to chime in and help me out. I would like to brew this in the next month or so.

Type: All Grain
Batch Size: 3.00 gal
Boil Size: 4.50 gal
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00

Ingredients

5 lbs 8.0 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 62.86 %
2 lbs Wheat Malt, Bel (2.0 SRM) Grain 22.86 %
8.0 oz Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM) Grain 5.71 %
8.0 oz Special B Malt (180.0 SRM) Grain 5.71 %
4.0 oz Carafa III (525.0 SRM) Grain 2.86 %

0.50 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) [14.00 %] (90 min) Hops 42.1 IBU
0.50 oz Columbus (Tomahawk) [14.00 %] (30 min) Hops 30.2 IBU
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] (10 min) Hops 8.7 IBU
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] (5 min) Hops 4.8 IBU

1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] (Dry Hop 7 days) Hops -

1 Pkgs Nottingham Yeast (Lallemand #-) Yeast-Ale

Est Original Gravity: 1.078 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.019
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 7.84 %
Bitterness: 85.8 IBU
Est Color: 29.9 SRM

thanks

Ingredients

5 lbs 8.0 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 62.86 %
2 lbs Wheat Malt, Bel (2.0 SRM) Grain 22.86 %
8.0 oz Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM) Grain 5.71 %
8.0 oz Special B Malt (180.0 SRM) Grain 5.71 %
4.0 oz Carafa III (525.0 SRM) Grain 2.86 %