Costs for a welded stand

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lou52onu

Reaction score
I've finally made some contacts that can get the materials and weld a modified tippy dump (SloBrewer's Design) for me. I have two questions for you are regarding the cost to build: 1) I was quoted for $106 for materials (1" x 2" - 14ga box tubing). To me the costs seem resonable but I have no experience with it. Does the size (for weight bearing capability, etc. sound correct) and cost seem legitimate 2) I was quoted $250 for the labor to weld it. To me for a side job the labor sounds a bit high. He said it would take 2 days to weld.

Are these reasonable costs?

Thanks for all of your help,

Jim

Is the materials cost already measured and cut to specs? I'm not familiar with SloBrewer's design, so I don't know how much material it is, but I'd expect that about $100 would be fair for my brew stand if I used 1x2 tube.

For a good welder to do this involves a lot more than just zapping some metal. $250 sounds high, but that's because I can do my own welding. It doesn't sound unreasonable.

Sounds to me like you are getting a reasonable quote for the welding work you are talking about. Here in central IL I deal with 3 different welding shops. Comparing to other projects they have done for me you are probably getting a good deal

You Guys SO OVER BUILD these things.
I'll be building mine out of 3/4" steel tubing...I'll post pictures if I ever get off my arss and get it done. The ones I've seen here would hold up a Semi Truck!

I have to ask the same question schneeman asked, are you going to precut the materials?
1" x 2" - 14ga box tubing
I concur, BigKahuna.
Wow.
That's beefy.