Stupid Dry Yeast Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnwongfat

Reaction score
I've never used dry yeast before, should I hydrate per packet instructions or do I just sprinkle that sucker in there? It seems like most people just sprinkle it in. I am hoping to lower the gravity on my imperial stout a bit more and was going to try this. Would adding beano be a better option?

when i used dry yeast (many moons ago), i hydrated it as per the packet. you'll get a shorter lag time and a healthier ferment that way.

and no stupid questions here bro! i learn something everyday from the gang on here. ask away!

"Would adding beano be a better option?"

Beano? Never heard of it in a homebrew context. Not from a fermentation POV, anyway. Then, I'm pretty much a newbie as well.

Whassup with Beano, anyone?

the affect of Beano is to make a light beer focused on reducing the residual carbohydrates by increasing wort fermentability.

I hydrate in warm water, it's easier on the yeast not having to fight the osmotic pressure of the sugars.

Beano (r) never worked for me, my beer, or my dogs.

I put my dry yeast in my LME container after I mix it in. I delute the extra LME on the side and try to create a happy home for it. Then once the wort cools off... I pitch it. Generally I get activity in 3 hours this way.