Calling wine kit experts

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KENfromMI

Reaction score
I've always made wine from fresh pressed juices and have no experience with wine kits. I purchased my first one yesterday to see how the concentrates compare to the fresh juice etc and having them do all the work as far as acid content etc. I'm a bit confused on the racking to the secondary, it says do not top off at this point to save room for the clarifying agents which I have never used before, I just do multpile rackings while bulk aging. Looking at the pack of clarifier there is no way it will top off the 6 gallon carboy to proper height. So when do I top off with a similar wine or do I use water? Do I rack once more after clear and top off? Ken

I'd say that for a kit, Follow the directions exactly. I'm not an expert, but we've made a few wine kits, and as long as I follow the directions, they work out fine, when I try and improve them, they suffer.

Its to give headspace for when you degass the wine. It will help in not having a blow-over when degassing.

-Todd

Thanks, What about the oxidation from leaving almost 1/2 a gallon head space on top of the wine for the 10 days they recommend? I will admit I usually bulk age my wine for a year before bottling, maybe they figure if you bottle in 6 weeks like they say to do you wont have to worry, Ken