Extra check valve needed in primary/secondary regulator set up?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PenPen

Reaction score
I am looking to buy my regulator set up for my kegs. I’d like to have a dual-guage primary regulator with a single-secondary regulator. I’m going to “T” off of the main primary line with one line going to the higher psi keg and the other line going to the secondary regulator.

My question is this. Is there any need for me to install an in-line check valve below the T going to the higher psi keg?

I can’t conceptualize a situation where the pressure in the higher keg would push back into the line. But I’m new at this, so what do I know?

If the higher psi keg did blow back into the line, while there’s a check valve on the primary regulator, there’s nothing that would stop the flow to the input of the secondary regulator, thus gucking it up.

Any guidance is appreciated.

I guess it depends on where the check valve is. If you're using a hose barb "T" after the primary's shutoff and check valve, your problem may be a backup into the input of the secondary since there's nothing to stop that from happening. You might want to use a brass "Y" on the primary and run two shutoff/check valves.

Think of it this way:

To protect your equipment you want a 'check' between your liquid and each path to a regulator. In your description you have 2 regulators with exposure to liquid. Thus you will need 2 check valves at a minimum. One on the line from Primary to keg and one on Secondary to keg.