Contamination or yeast reactivation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pliftkl

Reaction score
I'm in the process of brewing my third batch. For this batch, I chose an Imperial Pale Ale from Austin Homebrew Supply. This is my first attempt at a beer with a higher alcohol content. In my previous brews, I had a fruity taste that I think was a result of the high temperatures of my Texas home. For this brew, I figured I'd try to beat the heat by letting the primary sit in a half-full tub of cold water. The airlock showed significant activity for the first 4 days. Yesterday, I moved the primary out of the tub and set it on a counter, with the intention of letting it settle for a few hours before transfering to the secondary. I didn't get around to making the transfer right away, and had to take care of that this evening. However, when I opened the lid, I saw that there seemed to be some white things floating on the top. I didn't have anything floating on the top on either of my previous batches. I went ahead and transferred to the secondary.

Could the fact that I removed the primary from the tub into a higher temperature have "reactivated" the yeast and caused the white buildup on the surface?

If the beer is contaminated, how will I know? Will this just be evidenced by bad tastes after I've bottled?

The normal temperature of my house is 80 at night and up to 84 during the day.