Oxygen and Beer: When/how does it effect the brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SGM

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing and going on my fourth batch. I've scoured this resource and others to find out that oxygen can affect beer in a couple negative ways at various points in the brewing process. What I'm not quite clear on is how, when, to what extent, and to what likelihood the various oxygen contact points affect the beer. I've listed below some seemingly necessary points where the beer would come in contact with air. Can anyone share with me where the greatest risk is (and what the negative outcome would be) and the common methods to prevent? Or, is it just going to happen and isn't a big deal?

-Moving from primary to secondary (if doing so)--It seems necessary for there to be air contact, so how much is contact does it take for negative outcomes?

-Checking the specific gravity during fermentation when using an opaque fermenter

-For whatever reason, coming up short of 5 gallons, such that there is more space than ideal in the secondary fermenter (if using a secondary)

-If not using a secondary, and adding hops to primary for dry hopping purposes

-Stephen

Generally if you practice any reasonable level of precaution, oxidation is something that is not going to have an immediate effect on your beer quality. Eventually all beer will oxidize/stale.

-Moving from primary to secondary (if doing so)--It seems necessary for there to be air contact, so how much is contact does it take for negative outcomes?