In praise of the partial mash

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shawn Hargreaves

Reaction score
I've been brewing for nearly three years now: one year with just extract and steeping grains, and since then using partial mashes. I'm pretty happy with my technique, so I thought I would write it up here in the hopes that it might persuade some other extract brewers to take the plunge and try their first mash.

WHY PARTIAL MASH?

Extract alone simply does not offer the range of flavors that can be obtained from fresh grains. Some types of grain (notably crystal and roasted malts) can be steeped, but this does not work for everything. If you want to brew with Munich, Vienna, biscuit, brumalt, aromatic or acidulated malts, or other grains such as wheat, oats, or rye, you need to mash.

Here lies a range of flavors that simply cannot be achieved in any other way. Think your IPA is good today with a handful of steeped crystal? Try the same thing but with a pound of Vienna. Or take your delicious nut brown ale, and add some biscuit malt alongside the crystal and chocolate...

WHY NOT ALL GRAIN?

I live in a small house, have no garage, and limited storage space. I brew in my kitchen. I do not have room for bulky equipment that cannot be reused for cooking food.

MY EQUIPMENT

• 4 gallon brewpot
  • 2 gallon soup pan, with lid
  • 5 gallon plastic bottling bucket
  • Second plastic bucket, with 50 small holes drilled in the bottom
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Thermometer
  • Measuring jug

When I am not brewing, the two plastic buckets can be nested inside each other, with the brewpot inside that.

The soup pan is only necessary because my brewpot is too big to fit in the oven. If I had a larger oven, I could use the brewpot for everything.