Secondary questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lunamick

Reaction score
Hello all.. I'm brand new to home brewing and want to start with an ipa... Was gonna try to add some chai tea flavoring to it.. Should this be done in the secondary fermenter .. And how long should it stay in primary ?

Were you going to make tea and add it? Or were you going to dump the herbs in the fermenter?

If youre going to add herbs, Sanitizer them and put them in the secondary. If you're making a tea, add it at bottling/kegging time.

A good idea is to make some tea and add small amounts to some of the beer to find out a good mixing ratio. You wouldn't want to ruin an entire batch by blindly dumping in a bunch of tea.

Leave it in the primary until active fermentation is done. Usually a week or so. A good signal that primary fermentation is done us when the krausen disappears from the beer.

I was gonna use chai syrup like the stuff used in coffee shops... Or was gonna brew the tea itself .. Like I said I'm brand new to brewing so any advice would be great ...
And thanks for the info about primary fermenting...I will be bottling not kegging.. Also I got a kit for the ipa and was wondering If it would be smart to make some adjustments to the hops.. Like adding some dry hops

Also when is a good time to bottle after secondary... How long can it be in secondary before transferring it to my bottling bucket and addin the primer sugar

Usually you need 3 days of un changed gravity readings. That's a sign that fermentation is done and you can proceed to bottling.