natural gas burners

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D.W.

Reaction score
I'm planning on brewing in my basement, where I have a easy source of natural gas. I see burners up to 300,000 BTU and I'm wondering how much I need? I'll be heating sparge water in a 7 gal. aluminum, and boiling the wort in a 10 gal Polorware SS pot. Does anyone have experiance with this type of setup? Is it possible to have too many BTU's and not have enough control on the low temp end? What works good for you? I'm planning on an exhaust fan for the room. Thanks D.W.

I've been brewing with a 55,000 BTU torch burner for five years and haven't felt the need to go to a larger one. I'm replacing that burner with a 60,000 ring burner to give me better control. The burner on my mash tun is only 10,000 BTU. If you are planning on sticking with 5 gallon batches, I don't see any reason to go over 100,000 BTU.

You'll need the correct jet for your gas. Propane uses a smaller jet, NG uses ones 1.6x larger.

I use a burner stolen from a NG wall furnace, says it's 34,ooo. I peened the jet smaller for propane. Works well enough. A real 'hell' of a lot better than my kitchen stove for heating 7 gallons.

D.W. said:
I'm planning on brewing in my basement, where I have a easy source of natural gas. I see burners up to 300,000 BTU and I'm wondering how much I need? I'll be heating sparge water in a 7 gal. aluminum, and boiling the wort in a 10 gal Polorware SS pot. Does anyone have experiance with this type of setup? Is it possible to have too many BTU's and not have enough control on the low temp end? What works good for you? I'm planning on an exhaust fan for the room. Thanks D.W.