i never get to finish

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

techrunner

Reaction score
seems like this has been a consistent problem since i started brewing. i have used different recipes, different yeasts, sometimes in the basement, sometimes in a 2 stage controlled fermentation fridge. i always end up right around 1.020 on all my beers.

i have made a pale ale, porters, stouts, hefes, dunkels, all consistently end up at 1.020. some are there in a week and a half, others i have left in the primary for 4-5 weeks and still the same final. i had one that went to 1.018, otherwise they are all 1.020-1.021. and yes i have checked my hydrometer against regular water. and actually i have used two different hydros too. any idea what might cause this? seems weird to me. i guess they are pretty good, so i'm not overly concerned, but there has to be a cause. theroies anyone?

You're doing extract brewing right? There's what is known as the 1.020 curse, where a lot of extract batches tend to peter out at that point. Making sure you have put in plenty of oxygen and yeast on brew day helps. But some beer seem to stick regardless. A lot of that I think has to do with wort caramelization, where both the process of making and boiling the extract produces or converts some of the sugars into unfermentable ones.

Rev,