2 batches at once

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

optaka

Reaction score
I am brand new to brewing and only have a Coopers kit so far. I am wanting to be able to have two brews working at once. I am wondering what would be the best way to go about this. Would it be better to get a secondary and transfer to that and start a new batch or just get a second fermenter?

Considerations here will be space and money. I am a college student living in a small apartment. I don't know if that will make any difference between those two options, but something to consider.

i'd go 2 fermenters. considering a secondary is rarely necessary, you'd get more use out of 2 primaries. of course, many people interchange secondaries and primaries anyway, so it doesn't really matter much

Still fairly new at this but I haven't been doing simultaneous batches, although I have been staggering them. Meaning I brew a batch, put it in the fermenter, then as soon as I bottle it, days later I brew another batch. This way all I have to have is space for more bottles.

After I move to a different place, I will definitely invest in another primary so I can do more batches, but until then, this works for me pretty well.

You can either get another 6.5 Gallon Bucket or a Carboy of the same size, and either will work fine.

Each has definite Pros/Cons which I wont type out here as they're currently written in detail in a sticky at the top of the Beginner Forum.

Read through it and see which one offers you the most advantages. The only thought I'd point out is that carboys work better as a secondary than buckets do, so if your planning on doing blueberry (or another fruit) beers then a carboy might be your best bet.