Is this possible? 1 PID, 1 pump, 1 element...but theres a catch...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Abhitchc

Reaction score
I am new to electric brewing. I know just enough now to get me in trouble. I have 1 10 gallon cooler that I use as my mash tun, and a 60 quart Bayou Classic kettle that I use as a boil kettle.

Question:

Is it possible to do a RIM tube with a PID and pump, and then switch the cords and pumps over to my boil kettle after I am done mashing? I ask, because I am thinking about doing a system with 220V, 1 5500W element, 1 pump, and 1 PID. Like this one:
Auberin-wiring1-a4-5500w-BIAB-30d6.jpg

My plan would be to do a recirculating mash system with a RIM. Once I was done mashing, I would transfer the liquid into my boil kettle (also fitted with thermocouple and 5500W element). I would then unplug the RIM element and plug in the boil kettle element, and also unplug the RIM thermocouple, and plug in the BK thermocouple. This way, my control panel is my simpler, and much cheaper (I can always upgrade it in the future too). Basically, where the diagram says "BIAB" I will have 2 separate elements that I only use one at a time; 1 element in a RIM tube, and the other element in my boil kettle.

Would this work, or do I have a better option? I realize that it would be better to go ahead and buy another PID, and configure my control panel for 2 pumps, 2 elements, and 2 temp probes, but money is tight right now. Can I use the above drawing, and just update my panel as I go?

thanks

Andrew

Simple. Do everything you just said, but instead of buying a second PID, but some 3 way switches instead of 2 way switches and have one pole be for BK and one for RIMS.