English Pale Ale Recipe- needs feedback

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BillBaxter

Reaction score
Hello all,

I just whipped up a fairly simple English Pale Ale recipe and wanted to see what some of you think before I dive in and brew. I am relatively new to AG brewing so I wanted the opinions of experts! 60 minute mash, 60 minute boil.

9 lb Maris Otter
1 lb Caramel 40L

.5 oz Target hops at 60 mins
1.5 oz Target hops at 2 mins
4 oz Kent Goldings at 2 mins

I am thinking of mashing on the higher side to give the brew a little extra body. I plan on using Safale S-04 dry yeast for dependability.
The recipe was made using a 70% efficiency and so the predicted stats are:

OG 1.053
FG 1.016
IBU 30

I'm hoping I can bring the FG down to at least 1.014 but I'll be happy either way. I'm hoping that its a well balanced brew with a good bit of hop flavor but without any overly harsh bitterness. A session ale.

Any thoughts?

Looks good. You sure you want 5.5oz of hops near flameout? You are gonna get lots of aroma.

aeviaanah said:
Looks good. You sure you want 5.5oz of hops near flameout? You are gonna get lots of aroma.

Yes I think so. I figure that Goldings are generally fairly mild in flavor and aroma and I really wanted a unique aroma. I've never used Target hops but I heard they go quite well in small quantities with Goldings.

I figure why not swing for the fences? :)

Yes I think so. I figure that Goldings are generally fairly mild in flavor and aroma and I really wanted a unique aroma. I've never used Target hops but I heard they go quite well in small quantities with Goldings.

I figure why not swing for the fences? :)