Gravity: Sucks or Pulls...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pYr8

Reaction score
Hi All-

Just a play on Newton for the title...
I'm a noob on my first batch. After 9 days in the primary my batch went from OG 1.045 to 1.009. Should I go to the carboy now or wait? It's cloudy & maybe it needs some time in a secondary to clear? It tastes semi-OK so far...

No need to go to the carboy. It seems it has finished its fermentation. What style of beer is this? I would bottle/keg it in about another week. After that, if you have fridge space, cold crash it for 2 days and it should clear up just fine.

Once it ages and carbonates, the taste will refine. I have never like my beer out of the carboy - fyi.

give it another week then check it out. Won't hurt a thing.

what style beer btw? Also what do you mean it taste semi ok?

The style was a kit from DeFalco's.
Cooper's Real Ale based. We used an Ale Pail & fermented at an average of 68°.
My ridgeback & I enjoyed the test :mug:
I'm all in for another week or more in the primary, I stopped checking hourly days ago so I'm starting to get used to the waiting.
I remember a buddy from years ago that brewed & I helped bottle from time to time. He had a "lost" carboy that must have sat for 9-12 months. We bottled from floor level that night, LOL......

Should I just sit on it & wait for another week or two? I'm all for a better tasting, more potent batch :mug:
I'm just brewing blind here but it's fun as hell:ban:

I leave my in the primary for 3 to 4 weeks. I then check gravity. Then bottle.

Thats just me, it seems to work well on all beers except the very high grav ones that I do secondary for several months.