Amazing new 'speed' brewing technique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JacktheKnife

Reaction score
Howdy ya'll,

I have trebled my brewing speed,
with one idea I am fixin to tell ya'll about.
It is like the entire homebrewing universe has changed ,
and is continually changing before my eyes,
evolving as it were,
even as I write this.
An exciting brewing technique which is so simple,
I can't believe I have been brewing for 15 years and this one thing has never occured to me.
{I am from Texas}
But water...
Where does your water come from?

Water ...
For 15 years I have endeavored to 'brew my own'
in as cheaply of a manner as possible
just on principle.
I think of the Papazian book as the bible of homebrewing and it is.
I even heard an interview with the author of :
'The complete joy of homebrewing'
just the other day,
and it was frankly 'beyond me'.
He is a homebrewing genius and although
'Joy of brewing'
is twenty years old,
more than any other,
the book makes me think.
I don't believe Papazian boiled his water,
just his wort.
And I have used unboiled tap water to brew,
but for as long as I can remember...
I have always boiled my water.
{the clorine as well as the sterilization}
It tastes better.

It takes me 8 hours to brew a batch and it always has.
For 15 years,
I make good knives
and I brew good beer
has always been a credo of mine.
And I always have.
But as Josey Wales said:
something about,
"Its more like old habits"

I was in the Dallas 'Homebrew headquarters'
shopping and mentioned in answer to a question,
8 hours, it takes me 8 hours to brew a batch.
I can rerack 2 batches in a day,
bottle 2 batches a day too,
but brewing,
what with boiling all that 6-7 gallons of water,
and getting drunk and listening to music,
and a mans gotta eat...